[ Get Access ]
SMU Law Menu

SMU Dedman Law

  [ Get Access ]

Incoming Student Scholarships

A number of full and partial scholarships are awarded to entering first-year students.  The Financial Aid Committee endeavors to use the available funds to attract students who will enhance the SMU Dedman School of Law with their academic achievement and potential and life experiences.

Applications completed by the regular decision deadline will automatically be considered for academic scholarships. Scholarships for full-time students typically are awarded on the basis of an outstanding undergraduate record and a strong performance on the LSAT.  Scholarships are awarded to evening students on the basis of an outstanding record of academic, career, and/or other achievements.

In addition, because we believe that a broad spectrum of viewpoints enhances our educational environment, we also award academic scholarships to any student whose experiences, accomplishments, or background suggest that his or her perspective will enhance or diversify the learning atmosphere at SMU. To be considered for an academic scholarship that is awarded on the basis of your experiences, accomplishments or background, you must complete the optional question on the application for admission. If you are awarded an academic scholarship, we will notify you with your admission decision, or shortly after you have been admitted.

Approximately three students per entering class are awarded the prestigious Hutchison Scholarship. This scholarship covers the full cost of tuition and fees. There are also several scholarships awarded by private foundations. A separate scholarship application is required. Information on these scholarships is set forth below.

The Hatton W. Sumners Scholarship covers the full cost of tuition and fees and a stipend for living expenses and textbooks. Each year, the Sumners Foundation selects between four and six outstanding students to receive these scholarships. If you are a resident of, or attended college in, Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, or Texas, you may apply for a Sumners Scholarship.  If you are interested in applying for a Sumners Scholarship, you must complete the separate application. Your scholarship application must be completed and on file with the Admissions Office by February 15.  To be considered for the scholarship, you must be admitted to the full-time JD program by February 15 (to be admitted by February 15, you must have a complete application for admission on file no later than January 15).

The Sarah T. Hughes Scholarship, funded and awarded by the Dallas Bar Foundation, covers the full cost of tuition and fees of outstanding minority students each year. If you are interested in applying for the Sarah T. Hughes Scholarship, you must complete the separate scholarship application. Both your scholarship application and your application for admission must be completed by February 15.

Conditional Scholarship Retention Data

Students matriculating in: Number entering with conditional scholarships Number whose conditional scholarships have since been reduced or eliminated
2014 12 NA
2013 10 1
2012 8 2
2011 11 3
2010 9 1

Conditional scholarships are evaluated at the end of each academic year.  Recipients of these conditional scholarships must maintain grades within the top third of their law school class.  These are all full tuition and fee scholarships.  The vast majority of scholarships at SMU do not have a grade requirement above good standing (2.0 GPA). 



Office Hours:

Monday through Friday
8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Extended hours available by appointment.


(214) 768-2550


(214) 768-2549



Physical Address:

3300 University Boulevard, Suite 331
Dallas, TX 75205

Mailing Address:

SMU Dedman School of Law
Office of Admissions
P.O. Box 750110
Dallas, TX 75275-0110


Jill Nikirk

Assistant Dean for Admissions

Becca Henley

Director of Admissions

Gina Skipworth

Admissions Coordinator

Robin Webb

Admissions Specialist


Martin Camp ‘79

Assistant Dean for Graduate and International Programs

Bobbye Heine

Assistant Director for Graduate Legal Programs