[ Get Access ]
SMU Law Menu

SMU Dedman Law

  [ Get Access ]


The law school hosted a historic Supreme Court Summit featuring the highest courts of the United States and Europe, as well as the Texas Supreme Court and the U.S. Court of Appeals. Participants included:

1st row (L to R): Roger Grass (Registrar, European Ct. of Justice), Alberto Gonzales (Justice, TX Supreme Court), Stephen Breyer (Justice, US Supreme Court), Gil Carlos Rodriguez Iglesias (President, European Ct. of Justice), Sandra Day O’Connor (Justice, US Supreme Court), Deborah Hankinson (Justice, TX Supreme Court), David A.O. Edward (Judge, European Court of Justice).

2nd row: James A. Baker (Justice, TX Supreme Court), Philippe Leger (Advocate General, European Ct. of Justice), Fidelma Macken (Judge, European Ct. of Justice), Claus Christian Gulmann (Judge, European Ct. of Justice), Richard Arnold (Judge, US Court of Appeals), Leif Sevon (Judge, European Ct. of Justice), Thomas Phillips (Chief Justice, TX Supreme Court).

3rd row: John Attanasio (Dean & Moderator), Francis Jacobs (Advocate General, European Ct. of Justice), Jean-Pierre Puissochet (Judge, European Ct. of Justice), Craig Enoch (Justice, TX Supreme Court).


A group of the world's highest court judges gathered in SMU's Caruth Auditorium for the Alfred P. Murrah Lecture on the Administration of Justice. The rare forum offered a candid and thought-provoking judicial discussion that explored and compared the concept of supremacy under the European Treaties and the Constitution of the United States. In addition to having lunch with the judges, many students had the opportunity to spend some personal time with the judges while transporting them around Dallas. Pictured Above L-R: U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor, Dean Attanasio, European Constitutional Court of Justice President Iglesias, U.S. Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer, European Court Judge David A.O. Edward of Great Britain and Texas Supreme Court Justice Nathan L. Hecht.Pictured Top-Right L-R: European Court Judge Jean-Pierre Puissochet of France and Texas Supreme Court Justice Alberto R. Gonzales.


From July 17-19, 2004, more than 15 justices including U.S. Supreme Court Justices Stephen G. Breyer, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, and Sandra Day O’Connor; members of the Court of Justice of the European Communities including the President of the European Court of Justice; and the highest courts of Germany, Poland, Hungary, The Czech Republic, and Great Britain gathered in Oxford, England, to share their views and perceptions on constitutional law.

More information on the Supreme Courts Summit in Oxford.


A group of the highest court judges in the U.S. and Russia joined Dean John B. Attanasio and a contingent from the SMU Dedman School of Law and NYU School of Law in the East Conference Room of the United States Supreme Court during a gathering in January 2001. Later the Russian justices joined Texas Supreme Court justices at the SMU Dedman School of Law for a discussion on judicial issues and dinner with student leaders.


U.S. Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia spoke to SMU law students and alumni as part of the Alfred P. Murrah lecture series.


Justice Antonin Scalia and Distinguished Visiting Professor and Chief Justice of South Africa Pius Langa.


A group of 18 prominent international leaders and scholars, including ambassadors, CEOs and professors, gathered for a conference where the participants discussed unilateral and multilateral behavior with respect to military and security, human rights, economic and environmental issues.


U.S. Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison gave the 2005 Commencement Address at the SMU Dedman School of Law.



The SMU Dedman School of Law was honored to be selected to host and headquarter the nation’s premier institute on appellate judicial education. More than 125 appellate judges and over 100 appellate lawyers participated in the 2004 Summit in Dallas


Four SMU Dedman School of Law graduates have served as recent Justices on the Texas Supreme Court. Pictured from left to right are Justice James A. Baker ‘58, Justice Nathan Hecht ‘74, Justice Deborah Hankinson ‘83 and Justice Craig Enoch ‘75.