[ Get Access ]
SMU Law Menu

SMU Dedman Law

  [ Get Access ]
As a leader in the community and profession, a legal trailblazer, and successful jurist, Judge Lynn epitomizes the ideals recognized by the DBF Fellows Award.
After graduating summa cumlaude from the University of Virginia, and first in her class from SMU Dedman School of Law in 1976 , Judge Lynn began her legal career at Carrington, Coleman, Sloman & Blumenthal LLP. She was consistently named among the Best Lawyers in America in Business Litigation, and the National Law Journal named her as one of the 50 most influential women lawyers in the nation in 1998. In 1999, SMU Dedman School of Law bestowed upon her its Distinguished Alumni Award for private practice.
After success as a practicing lawyer, Judge Lynn began her service on the United States District Court for the Northern District of Texas in February 2000, where she is known as a brilliant, fair and hard-working jurist who has presided over high-profile cases. In 2004, The Dallas Chapter of the American Board of Trial Advocates honored Judge Lynn as "Judge of the Year:'  Judge Lynn's service to the profession is legendary. She has served as chair of both the ABA Section of Litigation and the ABA Judicial Division.
She has chaired the Committee on the Administration of the Bankruptcy System of the Judicial Conference of the United States, the Federal Trial Judges Conference, and the Research Fellows of the Southwestern Legal Foundation (now The Center for American and International Law), and served as a member of the ABA Standing Committee on Federal Judicial Improvements. She is a Fellow and former Committee Chair of the American College of Trial Lawyers, and a member of the American Law Institute. She has served as President, and on the Board of Directors, of the International Women's Forum of Dallas.
Judge Lynn is a former President of the Patrick E. Higginbotham Inn of Court where she is still an active member. Last year, when a new American Inn of Court for intellectual property lawyers was chartered in Dallas, its founders designated it "The Honorable Barbara M.G. Lynn American Inn of Court:' She has spoken on trial, evidentiary and intellectual property topics at seminars and conferences across the country. Ever the teacher, she has presided over countless mock trials for high school and law school students. The Dallas Women Lawyers Association awarded her its first Louise Raggio Award, and the Women and the Law Section of the State Bar of Texas presented her with its Sarah T. Hughes Woman Lawyer of Achievement Award in 2006.
The Fellows of the Dallas Bar Foundation was chartered in 1991 to recognize local attorneys who have distinguished themselves in their legal careers with significant contributions to the legal and civic communities of Dallas and to support the charitable mission of the Dallas Bar Foundation.