[ Get Access ]
SMU Law Menu

SMU Dedman Law

  [ Get Access ]
Ron Barger was awarded the Robert H. Dedman Award for Ethics and Law, established by the General Counsel Forum and SMU Dedman School of Law to honor the school’s namesake and recognize one corporate attorney each year for furthering law and ethics.
Barger has served as chairman of the General Counsel Forum and presently sits on its national and state boards, as well as the boards of his alma maters, SMU Dedman School of Law and the University of Illinois. He is a member of the Law School Executive Board and a Campaign Co-Chair for the Law School Campaign Steering Committee.
Active in community efforts in Texas and Illinois, Barger is a member of St. Andrew United Methodist Church, where he chairs the Staff Parish Relations Committee and is on the Executive and Administrative councils. He is a board member of Texas Sports Medicine Foundation and supports Lead SI, a Southern Illinois organization that promotes youth leadership.
The awards dinner helps fund the Forrest Smith General Counsel Forum Scholarship. Awarded annually to an SMU Dedman School of Law student to further law and ethics, the scholarship is named after a founding father of the General Counsel Forum.


Office Hours:

Monday through Friday
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Extended hours available by appointment.


(214) 768-3341


(214) 768-3340



Physical Address:

3315 University Boulevard
Dallas, TX 75205

Mailing Address:

SMU Dedman School of Law
Alumni Development
P.O. Box 750116
Dallas, TX 75275-0116


Lynn Switzer Bozalis '90

Associate Dean for Development & Alumni Affairs

Abby N. Ruth ‘06

Director of Alumni Relations

Lynn Dempsey

Director of External Relations

Kristy Offenburger

Director of Communications & Marketing

Jessica Mannon

Assistant Director of Development

Rebekah Bell

Assistant Director of Special Events

Janet White

Advancement Associate

Brenda Aylesworth

Administrative Assistant