[ Get Access ]
SMU Law Menu

SMU Dedman Law

  [ Get Access ]

Many of the members of the Dedman School of Law faculty have significant international experience or interests, with leading experts in the areas of international finance, commercial law, intellectual property/internet technology, human rights, criminal law, constitutional law, international economic development, and dispute resolution. The list of these faculty members includes:

Val Albright, Adjunct Lecturer; Partner - Gardere Wynne Sewell LLP (International Tax)

John B. Attanasio, Judge William Hawley Atwell Chair of Constitutional Law, Professor of Law and Former Dean
(Constitutional Law; Rule of Law Program)

William Bridge, Associate Professor of Law (Comparative Law)

David W. Carstens, Adjunct Lecturer; Partner - Carstens & Cahoon, LLP (International Intellectual Property)

Anthony J. Colangelo, Associate Professor of Law (Conflicts of Laws; International Law)

Nathan Cortez, Associate Dean for Research and Associate Professor of Law (Health Law and Regulation)

Rudolf Dolzer, Distinguished Global Visiting Professor of Law; Professor of Law - University of Bonn (Foreign Investment; International Commercial Arbitration)

Jeffrey Gaba, M.D. Anderson Foundation Endowed Professor in Health Law (Environmental Law)

Christopher H. Hanna, (Chair, Graduate Committee), Alan D. Feld Professor of Law and Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor (Taxation)

Matthias Herdegen, Visiting Global Professor; Director, Institute of International Law and Institute for Public Law - University of Bonn (International Economic Law:  Salient Issues; and International Regulation of Biotechnology)

Christopher Jenks, Director of the Criminal Justice Clinic and Assistant Professor of Law (Law of Armed Conflict, Criminal Justice)

Jeffrey Kahn, Professor of Law (Russian Law; Constitutional Law; Human Rights; Counterterrorism)

Yehiel Kaplan, Senior Lecturer; Associate Professor - Haifa University, Faculty of Law (Introduction to Jewish Law)

Thomas Kimbrough, Associate Director for Public Services of the Underwood Law Library and Adjunct Lecturer (International & Foreign Legal Research)

Ndiva Kofele-Kale, University Distinguished Professor and Professor of Law (Public and Private International Law)

Shalom Lerner, Visiting Global Professor; Professor - Bar Han University, Faculty of Law (Advanced Commercial Law; Property Law; Jewish Religious Law)

John Lowe, George W. Hutchison Professor of Energy Law (Energy Law)

Joseph Jude Norton, James L. Walsh Distinguished Faculty Fellow and Professor in Financial Institutions Law (International Financial Law and Regulation)

John Prebble, Visiting Global Professor; Professor - Victoria University of Wellington School of Law (Tax and Fiscal Policy)

Shiao-Ming Shen, Visiting Global Professor of Law; International Legal Consultant to Mackenzie and Albritton (Business Law in China)

Adel Omar Sherif, Distinguished Global Visiting Professor; Deputy Chief Justice, Supreme Constitutional Court of Egypt (Islamic Law)

T. S. Somashekar, Visiting Global Associate Professor; Associate Professor in Economics - National Law School of India University, Bangalore (International Law and Development)

Jenia Iontcheva Turner, Professor of Law (International Organizations; International Criminal Law; Comparative Law)

John M. Vernon, Adjunct Lecturer; Attorney - The Vernon Law Group (Franchising Law and Distribution Law)

Peter Winship, James Cleo Thompson, Sr. Trustee Professor of Law (International Commercial Law; Comparative Law)